Sadhana – Invest in your Wellbeing

kundalini-yoga-sadhana-flickr-sharing-218170There is no gain without effort, therefore creating the habit of Sadhana (spiritual disciplined practice) in your life is a worthy investment in your physical, mental, emotional and spiritual wellbeing.

Sadhana can be defined as, whatever you do consistently to awaken your consciousness so that you can relate your higher self. To cover all aspects, it will include some form of yoga or exercise and meditation. You can do it on your own or in the group. The best time to practice is in the Amrit Vela which is 2 hours before sunrise or sunset 4-7am or 4-7pm daily.

When I thought about writing about Sadhana, I wanted to give you an idea of what my motivation is to do a daily spiritual practice as well as group Sadhana.

On many fronts, I would say that before I began practicing Kundalini Yoga and doing a daily practice, I found it very hard to motivate myself, especially when it came to physical exercise and meditation. I am one of those soft people, who loves comfort, cosiness and really lazing around. I had not really nurtured discipline in my life, especially the physical or emotional sort. I was very self-absorbed and believed my internal mental dialog. I had quite a shock when I realised that I was indeed not my mind or emotions and that the clarity of the real me, was buried deep down under a ton of pre-conceived ideas most of which were not even my own.

Sadhana began as a chore for me. I got bored by my practice, used it to daydream about other things but keep on just doing it. Very slowly it started to work, very subtly without even my conscious knowledge.

When you start a consistent Sadhana practice be prepared for many subconscious blocks to challenge you and prevent you from keeping up a daily practice. Whether it be, not being able to sleep the night before, feeling sick, running late, family problems or just your alarm not going off. But as you build up your will power to overcome your mental and physical excuses it becomes easier to become more committed to yourself. Your mind becomes clearer as subconscious fears and unhealthy patterns that normally hold you in their grip are released. Doubt is released and your mind becomes sure. You become clear and start feeling more joy, being able to deal neutrally with fears and anxieties as they arise, as you have started the day by tuning your body, mind instrument to start reflecting that inner radiance in you.

This is my motivation for doing a daily and group Sadhana, I feel the benefits of having greater mental clarity to see what is real and what is just an illusion created by my mind. I am able to see my emotional patterns especially the unhealthy ones. This manifests in my new-found ability not to automatically speak my mind, which may create drama or karma, instead watch my mind and not react to its internal dialog.

I know I have a long way to go but by keeping up almost an uninterrupted practice for the last 14 years, I really see the benefits in my life. So, my challenge to you is, try it, keep going for 1 year and if you see no benefits stop. If you do feel better continue. Keep your motivation in mind when you feel tired, or angry you have to do your practice last thing at night. Remember sadhana clears the subconscious shadows, the automatic patterns of behaviour that make you feel bad or guilty after reacting to a situation. Try coming to a group Sadhana, I lead one once a week every Wed 5-7.30am 9 Greenlands Lane, Col 5, just sms to confirm you are coming or attend the first Saturday of the month at The Om Space.

Sat nam Fi x sanasumainsrilanka.wordpress.com read our weekly blogs and brain candy updates raymond.fiona@gmail.com www.sanasuma.co.uk 0778011984.

Mon 6 Feb 6.15-7.30pm   Kundalini Yoga @ Prana Lounge, 60 Horton Place, Col 7

Tues 7 Feb 6-7pm      Kundalini Meditation @ The Om Space, 185/9 Havelock Road, Col 5

Wed 8 Feb   5- 7.30am    Sadhana @ 9 Greenlands Lane, Col 5 (FREE CLASS)

Wed 8 Feb   3-3.45pm      Radiant Kids Class@ The Om Space, 185/9 Havelock Road, Col 5

Wed 8 Feb 7.15-8.15pm   Kundalini Yoga @ the Om Space, 185/9 Havelock Road Col 5

Fri   10 Feb 4pm    Kundalini Yoga Retreat@ Guava House, Mawanella

Sat   11 Feb 5.30am-8pm Kundalini Yoga Retreat@ Guava House, Mawanella

Sun 12 Feb   5.30am-4pm Kundalini Yoga Retreat@ Guava House, Mawanella

Leave a Reply

